Rugby World Cup 2023 favourites revealed

Which team will get to lift the Webb Ellis trophy this year? (Picture: Getty Images)

The Rugby World Cup 2023 is set to get underway this autumn, with the 20 best teams on the planet competing to hoist the famous Webb Ellis trophy.

France is playing host to the tournament this year, with reigning world champions South Africa looking to defend the crown they claimed with victory in the final against England four years ago

Meanwhile we’re also expecting great things from three-time winners New Zealand, off the back of their displays at the Rugby Championship.

As for England, hopes for Steve Borthwick’s side are low following on from their fourth-place finish in the Six Nations back in the spring.

But just who could bring the coveted trophy home? Here’s how the latest odds are looking…

Who is favourite to win the Rugby World Cup 2023?

Currently, New Zealand are favourites to take the Webb Ellis trophy home.

The team have odds of just 5/2 to win the tournament, closely followed by host nation France at 11/4.

Ireland are next in the betting at 9/2, alongside reigning champs South Africa, also at 9/2.

Current holders South Africa are among the favourites again (Picture: Getty Images)

However it’s not such good news for England, who are way down in the odds at 10/1 – while Wales are looking like even bigger outsiders at 33/1.

Ladbrokes spokesperson Alex Apati told ‘The odds suggest it’s very much New Zealand’s to lose at this point, while if one of the Home Nations are to cause an upset, as things stand it’s most likely to be Ireland.”

‘He added:’England’s hopes are already beginning to fade before a ball’s been thrown in France, with last weekend’s result doing very little to please even the most patriotic of punters.’

Here’s how the current betting is looking:

When does the Rugby World Cup start?

The Rugby World Cup starts on Friday, September 8.

The tournament will consist of 48 games, lasting for six weeks until the final on Saturday, October 21.

The matches will take place across France:

  • Bordeaux – Stade de Bordeaux
  • Lille – Stade Pierre Mauroy
  • Lyon – OlStadium
  • Marseille – Stade de Marseille
  • Nantes – Stade de Beaujoire
  • Nice – Stade de Nice
  • Saint Denis, Paris – Stade de France
  • Saint Etienne – Stade Geoffroy-Guichard
  • Toulouse – Stadium de Toulouse

Odds courtesy of

MORE : How to get tickets for the Rugby World Cup 2023

MORE : Complete guide to the Rugby World Cup 2023 fixtures and schedule

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

Source link

Leave a Comment